“Monument” Chocolate Pie

Productive day off: cleaned the house, finished my paper, bathed the dog, watched the Real Housewives, and busted some locks:

(My tough box from Iraq came back in the connex yesterday and I lost the key I had to the lock, so I spent a good half hour going after it with a hammer and screwdriver, and finally a soldering iron.)
During the course of the morning I was going through the fridge and found a carton of whipping cream that was expiring today, and I didn’t want to waste it so I thought long and hard (not really) and decided to bake something.  There’s a restaurant right down the street we LOVE, and their signature dessert is a chocolate pie:
(I F***ing LOVE this pie…)
On a quest to try something similar and paleo-friendly, I pulled out some recipes I have and did a little internet research and came up with a crust similar to an almond-based one I’ve used for other pies in the past (I used pecans because I thought the flavor combined with chocolate would be AWESOME and threw the macs in because they’ve been sitting in the pantry for a little while and I wanted to use them soon).  I also threw together a chocolate custard filling adapted from one I found at Elana’s Pantry.  Finally, I whipped up the cream with a little almond extract (although I might do it with vanilla in the future since I used vanilla in the custard).
Camilla’s “Monument” Chocolate Pie
Crust:
1 c. pecans
1/2 c. macadamia nuts
1/2 c. almonds
1/4 c. butter
1/4 t salt
Grind nuts in a food processor until fine.  Mix with melted butter and salt.  Bake at 325 for 20-25 minutes until brown and crisp.
Filling:
2 cans coconut milk
1/4 t salt
1/4 c arrowroot powder
1/2 c agave nectar
2 T vanilla
12 oz unsweetened chocolate
Bring coconut milk and salt to a boil over medium-high heat, making sure to stir it and keep from sticking. 
Whisk in the vanilla and agave, then sift in the arrowroot powder (NOTE: I just dumped it in because I don’t have a sifter…it was WAY clumpy but I took it off the heat as soon as this happened and just used an electric mixer to blend it together and it came out just fine).  Take off the heat and let stand for a minute or two, then whisk in the chocolate chips until melted.
Cool custard in the fridge for about half an hour and then pour into cooled crust.  Let sit in the fridge for 3-4 hours and then top with whipped cream.
It definitely LOOKS like the one at The Monument…
And pretty damn good, too.  It’s even Man-approved, so you know it’s good!  We both had 2 slices…we’ve got “Nicole” waiting for us first thing in the morning, so it’s just good carb-loading, right?

Leave a Reply

