This Week’s Meal Plan and Natural Facial Cleanser

The day started bright and early with “Nicole,” which was probably an ideal workout for me since I’m a decent runner and the 400m “breaks” between pullups actually helped me get more reps over all.  I ended with 43 pullups total with the “placebo band,” so as soon as I get another chance I’m going to see if I’m ready to go without any bands at all for a WOD featuring pullups.I did a whole lot of house cleaning today while The Man was out buying a new used car (Yay!!).  I purged the cabinets of all conventional cleaning products and bought a huge bottle of vinegar and jumbo box of Arm and Hammer so that, from now on, one more part of this house is eco-friendly and not killing us slowly.

(Only downside…I used some vinegar to clean the floor in the kitchen and the husky licked it all up…weirdo)

I’m heading out to grocery shop for the week after yoga tomorrow, so I wrote my meal plan for the week and made a grocery list, too:

Sunday:  Primal Moussaka (this didn’t happen yesterday as planned because we had no eggplant…sadness)
Monday:  Salmon
Tuesday:  Leftovers
Wednesday:  Pork Butt in the slow cooker (a Manly favorite)
Thursday:  Leftovers
Friday:  Rosemary Chicken (recipe to follow!)
Saturday:  Open (we have a 4-day for Veteran’s Day, so we’re trying to plan something fun)

I’ll have a post tomorrow with the cost report for the week…I don’t have as much on the list as last week so I’m thinking it’ll be about $20-$30 less, which would put me in safe territory.

Now for the second topic of this post:  Natural Facial Cleansers…

A lot of beauty products like shampoo, soap, deodorants, toothpastes, etc. have some NASTY SH*T in them than recent research has shown has a tendency to seep into your body and wreak all kinds of havoc.  Only problem is, I’m not a dirty hippy and I don’t really relish the thought of not wearing deodorant and not washing my hair and not wearing makeup.

HOWEVER…

I don’t like the thought of NASTY SH*T seeping into my body and making me fat and infertile and a petri dish for cancer and all kinds of crud.  I’ve been slowly replacing some of my daily use products with organic ones (I now use organic toothpaste, shampoo, and conditioner that are all rated highly by the Environmental Working Group).

This week’s Beauty Challenge is the use of facial cleansing oil instead of soap or scrubs that have a host of chemicals like sulfates and parabens that actually dry and leach nutrients out of skin.

I read all about oil cleansers here, here, and here, and settled on a mixture of castor oil and olive oil.  I used about 4.5 T extra virgin olive oil and 1.5 T of castor oil.

Instead of washing your face with soap, you rub a quarter-sized dollop of oil on your face for a couple minutes, then steam off with a hot washcloth.  I’ll let you know how this works out, although I’m going to be pissed if I just end up breaking out like I’ve never broken out before.

(I may make this “Beauty Challenge” a regular thing!  And why not…the blog has ONE WHOLE FOLLOWER!)

Leave a Reply

