Veterans’ Day Off

The Man and I are both veterans of the Iraq/Afghanistan conflicts (he’s been deployed four times, me only once), so we’re taking full advantage of our day off and decided to lay low and relax.

We slept in till 7:30…we normally wake up at 4:30 so this was NICE.  We proceeded to bum around, drink too much peppermint coffee, and then hit the books.  The Man is getting out of the Army soon and is applying to some (pretty ritzy) business schools, and the GMAT is in a little over a month (eek!).  I, on the other hand, started a master’s degree online while I was deployed.  Ironically, it was easier to focus on schoolwork while in Iraq because it was such a great mental escape from work.  At home, there’s plenty more I’d rather be doing than sitting at home in front of the computer writing papers…unfortunately the fall semester is over in the next couple of weeks and I had a lot to catch up on this morning.

By noon I realized I was in desperate need of some physical activity.  Originally I’d hoped to get in a long-ish run today but I wasn’t feeling it at all.  Instead, I opted for some sprint work (I need to do this a LOT more…I’m slow as bejesus) and some Tabata intervals.

My Workout:
.5 mile jog
5 x 100m sprints
.5 mile jog
Tabata push-ups
Tabata sit-ups
Tabata squats

And that’s all!  It left me schweaty and out of breath but in only about 20 minutes.  Tabatas are an amazing way to work your aerobic and anaerobic capacity simultaneously in a minimal amount of time.  Since it’s max effort, it’s effective at all fitness levels.

If you’re not familiar with Tabata intervals, they’re super simple.  Just take an exercise–ANY exercise–and do as many reps or as much distance as you possibly can for 20 seconds, rest 10 seconds, and repeat the cycle 8 times.  A single round of Tabata anything is only 4 minutes.  And oh, by the way, interval training and HIIT is better for your aerobic capacity than long durations of steady state cardio.  Take that, trou chariot!

(I myself am a former slave to the great TC…)

Some great Tabata ideas:  Pushups, situps, pullups, sprints, biking, burpees, tuck jumps, mountain climbers, planks, running stairs…get creative!

The only thing you need is a timer…I have a Tabata timer app on my Droid (so you know Apple has one, too) or you can just use a stop watch.

After my workout I made a quick lunch…

(Coconut crepe filled with 1 egg + 2 egg yolks and raw cheddar with organic salad greens and mushrooms topped with homemade salsa)
Back to work!  

Leave a Reply

