Carnitas Recipe and Weekend Recap

Today is the last day of our 4-day (sadface) and it’s not looking like anything too exciting is on the agenda.  We’ve got a Crossfit class in a little bit and then The Man is going to resume studying for the GMAT while I take a final for one of my classes.

The rest of the weekend was pretty low-key, too, but we did get down to Austin yesterday morning for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.  We (meaning I) didn’t want to get up super early to run the timed race, so we ran it untimed.  We had to weave around all of the people walking the course, but we guessed our average pace around 7:45 per mile.  The Man was nice enough to run the whole thing with me at Camilla-pace.

I also had a couple of culinary disasters this weekend…one of which was an attempt at baked eggplant fries last night.  I’ll give it another go sometime soon, though.  The Monument has some killer eggplant fries so I know it must be possible, but subbing out coconut flour is tough to do.  Please, please, PLEASE let me know if you’ve got any suggestions.
I did, however, hit one out of the ballpark.  I mentioned Saturday that our pre-race dinner was pork carnitas…holy hell they were delicious!
Pork Carnitas


2 1/2 lbs pork shoulder
4 c. water
1 c. rendered animal fat (you can just sub 4 c. stock for the water)
2 c. enchilada sauce (this recipe, or I also like Marca El Pato)
4 cloves garlic
1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
1 t paprika
2 t cilantro
1.  Cut the pork shoulder into 2-inch chunks.
2.  Combine all other ingredients in a large stock pot over medium-high heat and bring to a boil.

3.  Add meat to the pot and reduce to a simmer for 3 hours.

4.  Remove all the meat from the pot and transfer to a baking dish.  Pour extra enchilada sauce over the meat and Broil for 5-10 minutes (I like mine a little crispy around the edges, and that was about 8 or 9 mins).

So good!

Leave a Reply

