Pizza Night In


Since I was on my own last night I cozied up on the couch with a glass of wine and pulled up this last week’s roundup of Real Housewives of Beverly Hills (don’t judge).  I also had a pretty bad craving for pizza…I mean, I love pizza like all great Americans…like, I-want-to-wrap-myself-in-warm-cheesy-saucy-crust kind of love…
There are a few different ways to tackle a Paleo/Primal-friendly pizza crust (MEATZA, anyone?), so here’s a favorite of mine that uses almond flour.
For toppings, I was inspired by The Fitnessista’s “Lasagna Pizza”…tomato sauce, gouda cheese, and butternut squash.  Instead of arugula, I threw some fresh spinach in as well as some sliced onions…The verdict? 
F***ing delicious J
Almond Flour Pizza Crust
(Makes a 14-inch crust)
3 c. Almond Flour
3 Eggs
3 T Olive Oil
½ t Baking Soda
¼ t Salt
¼ t Black Pepper
¼ t Oregano
¼ t Basil
Pinch each of Marjoram, Thyme, and Garlic Powder
Sauce and Toppings as you please
Mix all ingredients together…it will form a sticky dough…
 
Press onto a greased pan…
Bake the crust at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes until lightly browned.  Add toppings and bake for an additional 20-25 minutes….
NOMNOMNOMNOM!!!
And don’t forget wine…lots of wine…

I prefer my pizza crust a little on the thick side, but you can roll it out as thin as you want.  Remember the thinner the crust, the shorter the baking time.
I’m a huge fan of the “nuttiness” that the almonds add to baked goods, and pizza is no exception.  The eggs and oil also add a really nice amount of moisture and it holds together really well without being crumbly. 
Leave a Reply

