Review: White Lion Baking Co.

I first heard of White Lion through an ad in Paleo magazine a couple issues ago.  A “Paleo & Gluten-Free Bakery”?!  Hell yeah!  I hopped on their website and, seeing that they don’t ship outside Massachusetts, informed The Man that a pilgrimage was in order.
Obviously I haven’t been to New England recently.  They do sell baking mixes that can ship out of state but I was hesitant because I’ve never been a fan of boxed-baked goods.  But after Everyday Paleo raved about a couple of White Lion’s baking mixes, I hopped on the bandwagon.  Their mixes are a little pricey, so I figured I’d start with a bag of their Cinnamon Bun Muffin mix and go from there.
The package (which got to me in 2 days!) contains the dry mix and an instruction sheet.  You only need eggs, butter, honey, and vanilla…nothing crazy by any means.  There are also options for a butter and cinnamon topping or a cream cheese topping and the recipes for both are also included.
The dry mix itself has a terrific ingredient list: almond flour, coconut flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.  That’s it.  Sure beats whatever the hell is in the ones in a can…
So this morning I pulled everything out and cooked up a batch.  My kitchen still smells amazing.  
The only issue I had with the recipe was the cooking time.  The recipe said to cook the muffins for up to 15 minutes, which I did, but they were still a little underdone so I threw them back in for 5 more minutes and it was all good.
I whipped up some of the cream cheese topping (again, with a short list of readily available ingredients) last night…it’s so rich but not too sweet at all.  I would absolutely use it for other baked goods, too, or even pancakes and waffles.
The muffins were light (the batter was almost souffle-like) with no trace of the dry or gritty texture that is so notorious in grain-free baking.  They didn’t even fall apart when I removed the paper baking cups.  Great flavor and absolutely delicious!
I’m officially a fan.  I’m eyeing the carrot cake next…it’s one of my absolute favorite foods ever so we’ll see how White Lion stacks up 🙂

Leave a Reply

