Hamburger Hands

“Daniel” is actually the name of my very first boyfriend…and tonight was just like I was 16 again because he broke my heart into a bajillion pieces.

50 Pullups
400m Run
21 Thrusters (95/65)
800m Run
21 Thrusters (95/65)
400m Run
50 Pullups

I started out with the grandiose notion that I could Rx this one the whole way.  Silly girl…

I got 25 pullups in and realized if I was going to finish today I was going to have to use at least a skinny band, so I finished out the first set with the purple band.  The run was no biggie and let me shake my arms out a bit.

When I hit the thrusters, I got up to 15 at 65lbs and my hands started bleeding.  Apparently when you do that many pullups in a row followed by throwing a big heavy bar around a bunch of times it tends to rub the skin off.  I had tears in my eyes when Coach ran over and taped my hands for me so I could finish the set.  Again, the run was a nice break.

The second set I took it down to 60lbs.  Before you laugh and point at me for being a wussie…know that those 5 lbs made enough of a difference that I was able to finish the second set, albeit painfully and with my hand still bleeding under the tape.

The final set of pullups was pure torture.  I had to go up to a blue band for the last half, which was a blow to my ego but I very well could have been DNF without it.

Result:  28:18…partially Rx-ed

I started as RX-ed, but tonight was a swing and a miss.  I came home and after a very painful shower with my hands still cracked open and soaking up all the soap, I filled my belly with leftover chili to soothe my aching…everything…and washed it down with the last slice of chocolate pie.

Chocolate twice in one day?  Don’t you judge me.

Leave a Reply

