Thank God for Yoga Pants

Finally home after a wonderful Christmas and great time with my family.  The drive back was a little rough because we were hung-the-f**k-overreally tired after all the festivities, but we both had to be back at work to sign in by today.It’s good to be home, though, and we’re steadily getting back into a good routine.  The Man and I both had a relatively healthy holiday, but even for those in Paleo circles it’s entirely possible to put on a few pounds and veer off track.  While I feel infinitely better than I have after Christmases past, I still had my share of chocolate, nuts/nut butter/nut flour, sweeteners, and a little more than my fair share of wine and certainly didn’t work out much at all.  Thank God for yoga pants.We had almost nothing in the fridge or pantry when we got home, so this morning The Man and I went to The Monument for breakfast–eggs, bacon, and fruit for me and eggs Benedict (minus English muffin) and fruit for him–and then to Sprouts where we stocked up on all of our staples and some extra goodies to prep for our New Years’ Whole30.

This week’s grocery total:

$146.93

Not too bad if you consider we had nothing in the fridge except for half a head of garlic, a jar of applesauce, and 2 eggs.

Tonight I’ve got a great meal planned around some lamb chops and I’m still working on something good for New Years’ Day.  I wanted to come up with something rich and delicious but still Whole30-friendly.  Originally I had a great recipe for roast goose with a sausage and chestnut stuffing from Mastering the Art of French Cooking, but quickly decided against it when I realized that the geese at Sprouts were upwards of $70 each.  Soooo…I need a little more time on that one 😉

During the Whole30, I’ll be posting all of my meals as a way to not only keep myself accountable, but also to provide some good meal ideas for anyone who’s joining me.  I’ve got some good recipes in the queue as well, and please, please, please feel free to offer up any of yours!  This is a great chance to not only make yourself feel better physically, but a way to reinforce nutritional habits that are better for you and more sustainable in the long run.

Luckily, the only things we eat regularly that are forbidden during the Whole30 are some dairy and red wine.  I’m also guilty of “Paleo-fying” a lot of dishes, so if I achieve nothing else next month I hope I’ll have a good chance to plan and execute some unique meals that aren’t built around my former unhealthy favorites.

Is anyone else doing a Whole30 to help ring in the New Year?

2 responses to “Thank God for Yoga Pants

  1. I'm doing it! I think it's the perfect way to start on the Paleo lifestyle :)I just spent a ridiculous amount of time at Barnes & Noble & left with a Paleo Comfort Foods cookbook. I have MUCH to learn so I'll be reading a few blogs (yours included) for much needed tips, recipes, support & inspiration!

Leave a Reply

