Baingan Bharta

I don’t know about you, but I’m an Indian food freak.  Going to college so close to New York City definitely spoiled me because I’m super picky and can tell good from sh*tty Indian from a mile away…no big deal.A little while ago I came across PaleOMG’s recipe for Aloo Gobi and it was a smash hit…so much so that I made it again (after waaay too long) after we passed by an Indian place in town and realized we were both craving Indian cuisine.

I made the Baingan Bharta as more of a side dish, but it can totally stand on its own.  I used to eat this stuff by the ton and it was the only thing I’d order in restaurants for the longest time because I was so calorie and fat conscious, though since then I still think it’s one of my favorite ethnic dishes.  You can even add some beef stew meat or chicken to it for a heartier version.

3 Large Eggplants
Oil for cooking
1 t Cumin
1 Large Onion, diced
2 Cloves Garlic, minced
1/4 t Ginger
2 Large Tomatoes, diced (I’ve also used 1 c canned)
1/2 t Coriander
1/2 t Garam Masala
1 t Red Pepper Flakes
Salt and Pepper to taste

Slice each eggplant lengthwise and roast on a baking sheet for 15 minutes at 425 degrees.  Peel off charred skin and coarsely mash the innards.

Over medium heat, add oil to a skillet and sautee garlic and onions until translucent, then add remaining ingredients and seasoning.  Stir well for about 5 minutes, then add the eggplant, stirring to combine all ingredients well.

Leave a Reply

