We Like Big Butts

(Whole30, Day 3)

I’ve been off work for a week and a half and I almost forgot what it feels like to be blasted awake at 4:30am by the most obnoxious cell phone alarm ever.  Almost

The drive in was especially brutal…I had to spend about 10 minutes in the freezing cold scraping the ice off my car (in T-shirt and shorts because I’m so smart I left my running suit at the office) and then managed to hit every single red light on the way in.  On an hour-long commute, that sh*t adds up.

Breakfast

Ground sausage cooked in olive oil with onions, carrots, mushrooms, and cranberries over shredded cabbage and dressed with coconut milk.  I know it sounds bizarre but it was good.  Yay for healthy fats!

Lunch

Spinach salad with baked chicken, avocado, roasted garlic, hard-boiled egg, and olive oil.  (I forgot to snap a photo…fail)

Snack

Some fresh grapefruit juice…we got this juicer as an early wedding gift and it’s kind of the best thing ever.

Dinner

A Big Butt.

This has got to be the easiest meal I make on a regular basis.  Trust me…I was out of bed at 4:32am, got dressed, put this together, packed my bag, and was out the door at 4:45am (followed by some angry de-icing of windsheild and windows…but that’s beside the point).  We had a salad on the side, but that only added about 3 minutes to the entire prep time of tonight’s dinner.

There was a while there when we’d have Slow Cooker Pork Butt every week…which actually means at least 3 nights in a given week because I buy the ginormous ones from HEB that can feed us for three meals EACH, and The Man and I eat a lot.

So tender and succulent…seriously, if I was somehow elected President and had even less time to do anything at home (which I often doubt is possible), I’d just make this every single day:

  • Boston Butt Shoulder Roast (any size is fine…we have a thing for the Big Butts, though)
  • Salt and Pepper to tase
  • ANY seasoning combo you want (I like Rosemary and Garlic, Herbs de Provence, Cayenne and Ground Mustard…the possibilities are endless!!)

Put Pork Butt in slow cooker (fatty side up).  Season as desired.  Turn on low and leave for at least 8 hours.  Go on your merry way, just come home for dinner at some point.

Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

