Whole30, Day 9

One of the things I love about the Whole30 is that while it is a means to push the “reset” button for a plethora of bodily functions as well as a means to achieve ideal weight and/or body composition, there is absolutely zero weighing in or food math involved.  What this means, at least for me, is that I can become a little more tuned to what my body is asking for–or not asking for–when the need asrises.

This weekend, for example, was pretty carb-heavy compared to the whole week prior.  The carbs I was consuming were by no means “bad” because they all came from natural, fruit-and-or-vegetable sources, but they still left me feeling a little weighed down.  This is ironic considering I’d been suffering a bout of low-carb flu all week, but the excess carbs didn’t keep me as full throughout the day and this morning I could tell I was a little on the bloated side.  I justified it all by reminding myself that despite the extra bananas/plantains/sweet potatoes/nut butter I enjoyed over the weekend, I’m still going strong on my Whole30 and still eating infinitely better than I would on some days otherwise.

I’m also comforted by the fact that this morning I was absolutely repulsed by the thought of anything sweet or starchy.  Ditto for lunchtime…I had my usual salad with chicken and b-nut squash but I left out the avocado.  I’m wondering if that’s not because I had a big, fatty dinner and my system has all it needs right now.

Breakfast

I had some eggs scrambled up with asparagus with some Apple Johnny Salad from Whole Foods.  The salad is raw cabbage, kale, and apples pickled in apple cider vinegar…

Lunch

The usual…salad with chicken, butternut squash, spinach, and some tahini dressing.  No avocado or fruit today…

Snack

After I hit the gym, I had a hard-boiled egg for a shot of post-workout protein…

See how I still-life’d it??  Yes, I have wicked photog skillz.  NBD.

Dinner

I made some of my Simple Roasted Beef Tongue, except instead of boiling it for 3 hours before throwing it under the broiler, I had it in the slow cooker on low all day.  Then I removed the outer casing, arranged it in a pan, seasoned it with salt, pepper, and chili powder, and broiled for 5 minutes.  Out.  Standing.

I don’t know what job allows 3 hours of free time before dinner, but I want it!  (I’m sure there are lots of jobs that have better hours and are more fun than mine…just please don’t tell me.  Let me live in my fantasy land…or else I might just spiral into a depression so deep not even a Reese’s McFlurry and Real Housewives marathon could drag me out…)

Today’s Workout:

I’m making a late resolution to lift heavier weights more often (I won’t be back at my CF gym for at least a month and I still want to make progress), so today I kept my morning run to just 2.5 miles with some sprints, then headed to the gym for some leg-work:

Back Squat 5-5-5-5-5 (65-85-95-95-105)
OHS 5-5-5-5-5 (30-30-30-40-50)
Front Squat 5-5-5-5-5 (55-65-65-75-75)

Don’t laugh too hard at my noodley-ness…a few months ago my numbers would have been half these if I was lucky 🙂

Food for thought:

-If you’re still not convinced by anecdotal evidence that an agriculture-based diet is slowly rotting your insides, an Emory University study published this summer concluded that, yes, agriculture fed us well enough to expand the population but also made humans smaller, weaker, and sicker.

-Hunger is a real issue in many parts of the US…sad, but true.  It doesn’t help that some areas are so poor and so far-removed from sources of quality food (“Food Deserts”) that many find it next to impossible to maintain a healthy lifestyle.  This article suggests otherwise–that with a little more effort even the dryest of Food Deserts can yield a sound diet.  Even on rice, beans, and canned goods as the author sugges, people would be much better off than they are on Donettes and chili dogs from the gas station.

-I know dairy goes out the window for the Whole30, but fo those of you who otherwise enjoy the occasional dose (of only the best quality, highest fat, most sustainably and cleanly produced), be warned…the skim crap, cottage cheese, and cream cheese have all been found to contribute to acne and skin inflammation.

One response to “Whole30, Day 9

Leave a Reply

