Sweet Cheeks

I feel like every single weekend since I got home off deployment has been the same…the yoga pants go on as soon as I come in the door Friday night and don’t come off till the wee hours of Monday morning.  My groove in the couch gets just a little deeper.  Copious amounts of warm comforty fatty food is eaten.  My lofty dreams of actually putting away the laundry that’s been piling up on the guest bed are reborn….and forgotten.  Not that I’m complaining.

Well, actually, you’ll be proud of us this weekend.  While, yes, I’m currently in the same stretchy pants and ratty sweatshirt I was in yesterday and the day before, I did clean up quite a bit on Friday (I even did my hair!  And wore a dress!) to go out and see some great local music at Cool River.  But then yesterday The Man and I sat on the couch all morning and watched the extended version of Avatar and made it even longer than the four hours it was because we kept pausing to question the ridiculousness of it all…I must have been pretty trashed when I saw it in the theater because while I can suspend my disbelief long enough to accept that this story takes place in the future and is about aliens that glow in the dark and speak to nature with creepy worm things in their hair…where the hell is that water coming from in the floating mountains???!!!

I digress.  I mentioned some “warm comforty fatty food,” yes?  
Oh. Hell. Yes.
Breakfast was some sweet potato hash browns with runny eggs…oh, but this time I went crazy and put some chili powder on it so it was a sweet-spicy walk through heaven at 8am.
You’d think that since I tend to get a lot more creative in the kitchen over the weekend that I’d give my salads a break and go after a fancier lunch, but not so.  Faithful chicken salad, I could never let you go…
Finally, I want to share what is perhaps one of the best quick meals I’ve never had…until now.  The Man had to run into town on Friday to run some errands and I asked him to grab a pork shoulder for me (I was going to do Carnitas at some point this weekend).  He got the pork, but also something I regret to admit I’ve never had…some beef cheeks.  They’re super cheap and super fatty–both qualities I love in my meat–so I got to work.
First, the went into the slow cooker (big surprise!).
Then, because I was totally still into sweet and spicy, I tossed on a sweet and spicy seasoning mix:
1 t Sea Salt
1 t Black Pepper
1 t Cayenne Pepper
1 t Cinnamon
1 t Cumin
1 t Whole Corriander Seeds
Set that baby on high for 4 hours, and voila!  Tender, melt-in-your-mouth, and heart-warmingly delicious on a cold weekend evening.
You’ll be seeing this again soon, I promise you.
Leave a Reply

