Krunch, Not Krap

I bought a tub of Steve’s Paleo Krunch Cereal the same time I got my first bag of Paleonola but I’m ashamed to say that it took me another three weeks to try it (Spoiler Alert: it keeps in the fridge!  Success!).

I brought both varieties of Paleo “cereal” with me to San Antonio for the obvious reason that all I had to do is pick up some fruit and almond/coconut milk to stash in the fridge for a nice, quick breakfast.  Before the leap to Paleo I was a cereal fiend–seriously, for the longest time the only things I asked people to send me in Iraq were boxes of cereal (and chocolate, of course!)–and I’m not gonna lie, the simplicity of a good cereal breakfast would be nice every now and then.

While Paleonola was a lot more like a trail mix, Steve’s is baked into clumps so that it has a texture exactly like traditional granola…it’s hard not to nosh on the bigger clumps up near the top.  I’m absolutely going to try out some of the other flavor varieties because the Original tastes amazing.  Again, I’m strongly reminded of the good old fashioned granola of my misguided youth.  Except this is so much better, both because it’s a helluvalot better for you but it also tastes better.

I had mine this morning with a banana, handful of raspberries, and almond milk.  I also appreciated that it didn’t get soggy in the almond milk like a wheat or oat based granola would.
Wanna know what’s the most awesome part of all?  “Almond meal, shredded coconut, raw sunflower seeds, raw pumpkin seeds, almond slivers, coconut oil, honey, vanilla extract.”  That’s a pretty stellar ingredient list…most commercial cereals might as well be boxed toxic waste.  Even that Kashi krap is a little suspect to me.  I laughed out loud at a reader comment I got a couple weeks ago about the claim that Kashi cereal has as much protein as an egg:  “Just eat the effing egg!!!!!”  I mean, duh! Seriously!!
I wouldn’t eat this stuff every single day because it’s a little nut-heavy, but every now and then when you’ve got a hankering for cereal or just need a quick and easy breakfast, it’s perfect.  Trust me, as a former Granola Addict (and I’ll be honest with you…Peanut Butter Puffs made up the better part of my diet as a child/teen/young adult), that means something.  I don’t have a kid and probably won’t for a very long time, but if I did I’d feed him/her this stuff without a second thought.  Yes, ours will be Paleo Babies!

One response to “Krunch, Not Krap

  1. 🙂 I will have to get some of this. In my former life I was a cereal (and toast) freak for breakfast. I miss the crunch. I put some chopped nuts and some blueberries in a bowl the other day with coconut milk over it for that cereal effect but it was lacking something.

Leave a Reply

