A Date With Michael

Today’s workout was “Michael,” a super simple one I could bring to the hotel gym:

3 Rounds for Time:
800m Run
50 Supermen
50 Sit-ups

It was perfect not just because of it’s portability, but because it’s a down and dirty combo of my two favorite kinds of exercise–running and abs.  However, like any good Crossfit WOD, it’s simplicity is inversely related to it’s suck-factor.  I was already a little sore around the middle from yesterday’s hotel room Tabata session, so the supermans almost broke me off.  My runs were strong, though, which is encouraging because I’ve got less than a month before the half marathon…I ran each of them at 7min/mi pace.  I forgot my phone so I couldn’t time the WOD, but watching the wall clock I’m guessing I came in around 14 minutes.

After my date with “Michael,” I also got in a couple quickies:

(Get your mind out of the gutter)

3 Rounds:
10 Air Squats
10 Dumbbell Deadlifts
Followed by 3 Rounds:
10 Hanging L-sits
10 Shoulder Flyes

I’m sufficiently pooped.

Speaking of favorite things, I finally got around to bringing my toaster oven up to the room…I’ve had Old Faithful ever since college when he was my go-to for midnight Pop Tarts and butter-soaked toast.  Ah, memories…



Instead of Pop-Tarts, I made some sweet potato fries…one of my most favorite things ever.  And if they’re not one of yours, too, you’re just not an American.

Easy Sweet Potato Fries
(Serves 1-2)

1 Large Sweet Potato
1 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 T Coarse Sea Salt

Cut the sweet potato into strips (I had a hell of a time doing this with my Gerber, btw).  Toss into a plastic bag or tupperware with oil and salt.

Bake at 425 degrees for 30 minutes.  I like mine a little crispy around the edges, so I had them in there for about 35 mins.

I enjoyed mine with a side of organic marinara and some leftover roast chicken.

My room still smells like baking sweet potatoes…it’s safe to say that I’ll be sleeping easy tonight.  But before that happens I’ll be watching The Bachelor.  Don’t judge.  Shit’s going down, you guys…See you tomorrow!

One response to “A Date With Michael

  1. Pingback: Bacon Scallop Stir Fry « tgipaleo·

Leave a Reply

