Pancakes Make Everything Better



“Whoever you are, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.”

Tennessee Williams wrote that into A Streetcar Named Desire, and I was reminded of it this afternoon as a complete stranger tried to put his fist through my car window.  I wasn’t anywhere close to hitting anyone and was moving all of a mile an hour, but it was my own fault for not yielding to a pedestrian in a crowded parking lot.  I did what I do best…burst into tears and kept going.

On that note, I’d like to offer a hearty breakfast recipe…it was inspired by what little foodstuffs I have leftover in the hotel room and my feeling sorry for my Liddle Griddle for so little use in the last six months.  I shit you not, this thing made my life in Iraq worthwhile.  When I wasn’t stuffing my face with almond butter soaked oatmeal, it was Pamela’s pancakes.

Pumpkin Flax Pancakes with Blueberry Compote
(Serves 2-3)

1/2 c Almond Meal
1/4 c Flax Meal
2 Eggs
1/4 c Coconut Milk
1/4 c Pumpkin
1/4 t Vanilla
1/4 t Cinnamon
Pinch Salt
2 c Blueberries

For the pancakes, combine everything except for the blueberries and let rest for 10 minutes or so (I like the flax to gel, as it creates a better texture).  Cook for 2-3 minutes on each side over medium heat (350 degrees).

For the topping, toss the blueberries in a bowl and microwave for about 30-45 seconds until they burst and bubble a little bit.  Classy, huh?

5 responses to “Pancakes Make Everything Better

  1. Pingback: Pancakes for Dinner | tgipaleo·

  2. Pingback: Pancakes for Dinner « PRIMAL COMPETITOR·

Leave a Reply

