Foi de Veau

The Man and I spent the Superbowl at home this year.  Watching re-runs of The Biggest Loser.  Whatever, the best part of the game is the last quarter anyway, assuming of course that one team isn’t getting completely hosed.  And the commercials, naturally…but for the next month everyone just plays some kind of “Best Superbowl Commercials” segment every hour on the hour, so I’ll miss nothing.

Anyway, back to The Biggest Loser…I only started watching this season because Bob Harper is all about Crossfit.  And I love Crossfit, too!  I just finished the episode where Bob has his people doing “Fran,” which I think is awesome except that they all had faster “Fran” times than I do.  Yes, I’m aware that they can scale the workout, but I’m just superficial like that.  Until I can beat Iceland Annie’s “Fran,” I feel inferior.

This is probably the last thing anyone would have on Superbowl Sunday, but we did and it was awesome.  I took a few tips from Julia Child and kept it simple and elegant.

Sauteed Calf’s Liver

(Serves 2)

4 Slices Calf’s Liver

2 T Ghee

1 Small Onion, sliced

1 c Mushrooms, sliced

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 t Oregano

1 t Thyme

Melt the butter over medium-high heat.  Season the liver with salt, pepper, thyme, and oregano.  Dust lightly with arrowroot powder, and cook in the butter for 3 minutes on each side.  Remove onto a plate and cover with foil (I kept the plate in a 200 degree oven to keep it warm).

Add mushrooms and onions to the drippings and sautee until soft.  Serve with the cooked liver.

Oh!  Big news in the Paleo blogosphere…at least for me.  The Civilized Caveman is hosting a recipe photo contest along with Paleo Parents and The Foodie and the Family.  There’s some great prizes and it’s a great opportunity for anyone looking to try something new.  You bet your britches I’ll be hammering away at this one…especially since we got 8 pounds of pork chops yesterday and have no clue what to do with them.

Leave a Reply

