Salmon-Sweet Potato Breakfast Bake

Lately I’ve been completely addicted to Worst Cooks in America.  I mean, I’m sure they screen people to get the ridiculous mix of personalities but I literally sit on my couch laughing so hard I look like I’m having a seizure.  Seriously, last night this woman was trying to make Swedish meatballs and was all like, “When I think of Sweden, I think of chocolate and the Alps…because Sweden is in Switzerland!”  And then this other chick was freaking the eff out because shecouldn’t get her tofu to melt.  I mean, holy hell…I love it so much.

I have the utmost respect for Anne and Bobby and Robert…I’m a terrible teacher.  I have zero patience.  Ross is a better man than most for staying with me after I berated him for not knowing how to make butter, and then all those times when I make fun of him for being such a slow salad-maker.  I’m being mean, though.  Despite some sub-par knife skills, he’s actually a good cook, really…in fact, he’s cooking dinner all week this week and I am so, so thankful for the break.

So…breakfast.

Egg casseroles are under-appreciated.  I mean, they’re good for any meal of the day…like one of those “BLD’s” Rachel Ray likes so much.  Plus they’re so fracking easy to make and they last all week long…all I have to do in the eveing to prep for the day ahead is rinse out my tupperwares and add another piece.  Boom.

Ingredients

18 Eggs

8 oz Cooked Salmon, flaked

1 Red Bell Pepper, diced

1 Small Onion, Diced

1/2 Large Yam, grated

1 c Fresh Kale, shredded

1 t Sea Salt

1 t Black Pepper

2 t Rosemary

Instructions

Beat the eggs and spices with a wire whisk until foamy.

In a 15 x 10 x 2 inch greased baking dish, spread the kale on the bottom.  Add diced pepper and onion, then salmon, then sweet potato.

Pour the eggs over the filling and let sit for 5 minutes to let it settle.

Bake for 40 minutes at 375 degrees.  Allow to rest for 10 minutes before serving.  It also keeps in the fridge, covered, for up to a week.

4 responses to “Salmon-Sweet Potato Breakfast Bake

  1. This is whats for dinner tonight! Fresh steel head that my husband caught in Oregon this week will be perfect for this 🙂

Leave a Reply

