Endeavoring to Live

I read a lot of blogs and random sites about health and fitness on a daily basis.  I follow significantly fewer regularly, not because they’re bad but because the shitty thing about writing in general is that it takes something a littl extra to really grab someone’s attention and get them to keep coming back for more.  I can’t explain exactly what that special something is, but it’s there…know what I mean?

OK, so what I’m getting at is that when I do come across something that I literally can’t get enough of, I get excited.  Like finding a new favorite food (jalepenos, anyone?).  And in this case, it happened to be a friend of mine–I feel like a complete ass-hat for not sharing her blog sooner, btw–and her blog is really something special.  Not only is Ashley totally cool because she likes Paleo and Crossfit (like, legit Games-level and could break me in half) but because she takes it all in a completely different direction into mental skills coaching.  It’s a refreshing change from all the chatter on the web that does little but obsess over food and body image (like me!), and she’s super smart and really ties it all together in a way you won’t find anywhere else.

Here we are at Airborne school together. Awwwww 🙂

My favorite post is this one–relating the whole idea behind Locus of Control to her personal experience competing in the Crossfit open while dealing with the same old work BS we all so sometimes.  In this case, she had staff duty all night knowing she still had to show up and kick ass at the gym the next day.   But you know what’s awesome and kind’ve makes me hate her?  She’s one of those folks who can focus on an internal locus of control, and explains exactly how–especially in a sport like Crossfit–this ability makes an athlete extremely valuable.

Me…well, I’ve actually had tantrums when the staff duty roster came out for the month.  More than once.  Don’t you dare judge me.  If you want to be scientific about it, I’m a victim of the external locus of control.  I mean, holy hell, am I a whiner.

Ultimately, though, Ashley’s a phenomenal writer and draws from her life experiences to bring some great ideas to the table.  These stories are real, relevant, captivating, and unbelievably inspirational.

One response to “Endeavoring to Live

  1. Pingback: Mind Article : Life and Fitness Part II | mindbeingfit·

Leave a Reply

