Lemon Basil Pound Cake

You’d think that I’d be starving myself…I mean, it is less than two weeks until my wedding.  And yeah, I am a little paranoid my dress won’t fit and the grandkids will look back on the pictures of me stuffed into it like sausage.

But you know what?  I’m a terrible dieter, and given that the wedding is stressful enough without everything else going on at the same time–moving to Colorado, new job, my spouse leaving the Army and looking for a new job, other fun stuff I’m being more private about–I think trying to put restrictions on would drive me over the edge.

I suppose that brings me to the fact that I’ve been baking a lot lately.  I’ve made four batches of these since their inception, and now I have something else spring-y and delicious.  I really, really wanted something sweet that I could dunk in my coffee…and this cake is actually really refreshing and light on its own.

Ingredients

2/3 c Coconut Flour

6 Eggs

1/2 c Coconut Butter

1/3 c Local Honey

1/2 t Salt

1 t Baking Soda

Juice and Zest of 1 Lemon

1/3 c Chopped Fresh Basil

Instructions

Beat the eggs and add coconut butter, honey, salt, baking soda, lemon zest and juice, and basil.  Add the coconut flour a bit at a time, beating all ingredients until well combined.  Batter will be thick.

Bake in a loaf pan at 350 degrees for 1 hour, or until a knife inserted comes out clean.

2 responses to “Lemon Basil Pound Cake

  1. YEAH!!! less than 3 weeks for me! But I don’t have the added stress of moving….so I can’t even imagine what you are going through! Eat, breathe, enjoy your day! Everything will be beautiful!

Leave a Reply

