Chili Dog Pie

Ross was a real trooper all last week as he less-than-happily-but-lovingly supported me in my latest obsession with fitness competition as he choked down meals of dry baked chicken and unseasoned steamed veggies with me.  I figured tonight was time for a change of plans.

Whilst I diligently re-heated my 4 ounces of boneless, skinless chicken breast and 1/2 cup of frozen broccoli with exactly 4 ounces of baked sweet potato, there were powerful aromas wafting through the house…from the stovetop, from the oven, from…everywhere.  This baby is worth it.  Or so I’m told.

OK that was a HUGE lie.  I totally had this for dinner.  And then went back for seconds.  Sorry.  Wait, no I’m not.

This really reminded me of the macaroni and hot dog casseroles my mom used to make me when I was a little kid.  Except there is neither hot dog nor macaroni in mine.  Go figure.

INGREDIENTS

1 T Olive Oil

1 lb Ground Beef or Bison

1/2 Small Onion, diced

1 c Prepared Enchilada Sauce (I use El Pato)

1 t Chili Powder

1/2 t Cumin

1/4-1/2 t Cayennne Pepper (depending on how hot you want it!)

Salt and Pepper to taste

4 Large Andouille or Bratwurst Sausages, sliced and cooked

1 Large Sweet Potato, grated

1 T Olive Oil

INSTRUCTIONS

First make the chili…it’ll need some  time.  Heat a pot over medium-high and add the olive oil.  Sautee the onion until translucent.  Add the ground beef and cook until browned, then add the seasonings and enchilada sauce.  Bring to a boil and then cover and reduce heat to low.  Allow to simmer for at least an hour but longer is always better!

For the hash brown layers, heat the last tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat.  Cook the grated sweet potato (with a little salt and pepper to taste) until slightly browned and fragrant.

When you are ready to assemble your pie, lightly grease a 2 QT baking dish.  Place half of the hash browns on the bottom and press down firmly.  Arrange the cooked sausages on the hash brown layer.  Pour the chili on top.  Then place the last half of the hash browns on top.

Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes until the pie is nicely browned on top and bubbling.  Let rest for 5-10 minutes before serving!

7 responses to “Chili Dog Pie

  1. Pingback: Ground Breaking: 25 Non-Burger Dinners to Make with Ground Beef·

  2. I’ll admit I had my doubts going into this; sweet potato and enchilada sauce did not sound like two ingredients that should go together. But this was sofa king delicious! My eight-year-old got thirds AND made up a song which was basically repeating “chili dog pie” melodiously. Thank you for your tasty recipes and awesome personality!

Leave a Reply

