Pumpkin Spice Latte Muffins

Yep, that would be me.

I actually wrote this recipe several weeks ago, but couldn’t even look at it until the competition was over.  But it was well worth the wait.  OMG, was it ever!

I don’t know what it is, but pumpkin and coffee were just made for each other.  Who’da thunk?  These are lightly sweet, spicy, earthy–not so much like the Starbucks version that has enough syrupy sugariness to crack teeth and send me into orbit, but by all means feel free to add a little more maple syrup if you’d prefer.  I won’t judge.

And pleasepleaseplease have at least one piping hot out of the oven.  I want an oven-fresh muffin as my last meal.  Also feel free to add no sweetener at all the health ’em up a little bit.  Yes, I just made “health” a verb.  I was an English major, people, I can do that.

INGREDIENTS

(makes 12 muffins)

3/4 c Coconut Flour

1/2 c Ground Flax

1 t Salt

1 t Baking Soda

2 T Ground Coffee

2 t Cinnamon

1/4 t Nutmeg

1/4 t Ground Ginger

8 Eggs, beaten

3/4 c Full-Fat Canned Coconut Milk

2 Really Ripe Bananas, mashed

2/3 c Pumpkin Puree

2 t Vanilla

2 T Grade B Maple Syrup (more or less for desired sweetness)

Coconut Whipped Cream, for topping

INSTRUCTIONS

Whisk together the dry ingredients.

Gently mix together the beaten eggs, coconut milk, bananas, pumkin, vanilla, and maple syrup until smooth.  By 1/2 cup-fulls, add the dry mixture and whisk until smooth.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Fill lined muffin tins 3/4 full with batter.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick.

Enjoy!

6 responses to “Pumpkin Spice Latte Muffins

  1. Bahahaha, you are the 3rd competitor I have heard how has gone into pumpkin overload. I have too! I have pumpkin pie oatmeal this morning and made a pumpkin protein spread for my rice cakes… I feel like I missed out and have to catch up!

  2. Pingback: Paleo and Primal Alternatives to Oatmeal « PRIMAL COMPETITOR·

Leave a Reply

