Smoky Bacon Ginger Banana Bread

So I was cleaning out my fridge…and THIS happened.

Honest to Goodness I have no idea why I though ginger and bacon would taste good together.  Let alone with bananas.  I don’t even know why the hell I thought it would be a good idea to saute the ginger beforehand…but we do it with garlic and stuff, so why not?  The batter even looked pretty disgusting and I wasn’t sure what to make of the smoky gingery aroma…so this totally could have been a disaster.  I have a lot more of those than I’d care to admit.  Cooking with random crap is…well…a crap shoot.  But DAAAMMMNNN!

Smoky.  Spicy.  Sassy.  Savory with juuuuuust the right amount of sweetness from the banana.  Perfect–and I mean puuuuuurrrfect–with a nice hot cup of coffee first thing in the morning.

For  something I was totally expecting to trash, not too shabby, huh?  The loaf was gone in 36 hours.  GONE.  And Ross is in Boston… Whatever.  All this election coverage has been stressing me out.

OH!!  As always…please don’t let the pictures fool you.  Thank to all of you who made some awesome suggestions for setting up my pictures to make my food look, um, edible.  I’m experimenting with some makeshift light-box stuff but am clearly still riding the photographic short bus.  Thank you for your patience.  You’re all good friends 🙂

INGREDIENTS

1/2 c Coconut Flour

1 t Salt

1 t Baking Soda

1/2 c Ground Flax

6 Eggs

3 Very Ripe Bananas

3 Thick Slices Bacon (Organic and Pastured!!)

3 T Fresh Ginger, grated

INSTRUCTIONS

Fry the bacon until crisp.  Drain on paper towels and chop into small bits.  Set aside.

Drain off all but a little bit of the bacon grease.  Toss the grated ginger into the frying pan and saute for about 1 minutes, or until fragrant and lightly browned.

Whisk together the dry ingredients and set aside.  Mash the bananas and beat in the eggs.  By quarter cup-fulls, add the dry mixture and mix well until completely combined.  Fold in the bacon bits and ginger.

Pour batter into a greased loaf pan.**  Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

**To make it easier to get the loaf out of the pan once it’s done baking, line the bottom with a strip of parchment paper.  This seriously changed my life forever.

5 responses to “Smoky Bacon Ginger Banana Bread

  1. My mouth is watering!!! I can’t wait to make this!

    As a person who is paleo due to celiac, Crohn’s and colitis and the SCDiet, let me just say THANK YOU for your inspired recipes and sassy, hilarious writing! I have so many LOL moments when I read your posts.

    I might have to go to the grocery store on my way home from work so that I can make this tonight and have it in the morning with my Daybreak Chai—my system can’t handle coffee until at least 10 am!

    Have a great day! Given the election results, I hope that yours will be as great as mine!

    Suzanne

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Your Baconana is my go-to Sunday “fancy” breakfast now. I wonder if adding a little sauteed ginger to that might be kind of amazing…..
    I’m afraid my limited self-control won’t allow me to make this bread. 36 hours would be a long time for me.

  3. Oh my god are you KIDDING me?!! Seriously genius idea. Banana bread? Good. Ginger? Good. Bacon? Goooooood.
    This is fantastic and I will be making it for everyone I know over the next couple of weeks! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  4. Pingback: Coconut Curry Banana Bread |·

Leave a Reply

