Butternut Squash Chili

It’s Chili Season, you guys!  

Seriously, it’s cold outside…I feel like a total a-hole saying that when most of my friends and family, to include my husband, are getting buried under hurricanes and blizzards on the East Coast, but whatever.  I can see the snow up on Pikes Peak every morning.  Totally the same thing.

This recipe definitely saved my sanity last week.  I’m going through a busy spell at work and in life in general, so I’ve been getting home kinda late and emotionally drained lately–certainly not the kind of mood that lends itself to making a fancy dinner.  More the kind that lends itself to bottles of wine and tubs of Cool Whip…but that’s beside the point, OK?

I whipped up a big pot of chili last Sunday afternoon, then put it in the fridge and forgot about it because I got really excited about organ meats and made this instead.  Come Monday afternoon, I came home in tears after a long day and probably would have let myself starve except that, ‘lo and behold, there was a giant pot of chili right right in my face as soon as I opened the refrigerator door.  Popped that baby on the stove to re-heat and BAM.  Warm, soothing, comforting, hearty Autumn dinner.  This was pretty much the same story for the next few days.  I’m so cool, I know.  This stuff ages better than Joan Rivers, lemme tell ya what.

**(PS…I’ll have the winners of the giveaway up soon.  You guys gave me some GREAT ideas and I’m having a helluva time picking which ones to try!  

PPS…That bread I had on the side is Captial A-Awesome.  Recipe coming soon!)**

INGREDIENTS

1 lb Ground Beef

1 lb Ground Pork

1 lb Ground Veal

1 Large Butternut Squash, peeled and cubed

1 Onion, chopped

2 Bell Peppers, chopped

28 oz can Diced Tomatoes, drained

2 T Chili Powder

2 t Cumin

2 t Garlic Powder

2 t Cayenne Pepper (optional but awesome)

Salt and Pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

In a large pot, heat a little oil over medium heat and saute your onions and peppers until soft.  Add the ground meats (you can juts use 3 lbs of any ground meat but this combo is a favorite of mine) and stir until lightly browned.

Add the tomatoes, squash, and seasonings.  Stir well to combine, then cover and reduce heat to medium-low.  Allow to cook for at least 2 hours or until the squash is soft.

My cardinal rule of chili is that the longer you let it cook, the better.  Ideally, cook up a pot, refrigerate overnight, and serve the following day!

3 responses to “Butternut Squash Chili

  1. Pingback: Savory Garlic Sage Pumpkin Bread | tgipaleo·

  2. Pingback: CFSR WOD 11.30.2012 «·

Leave a Reply

