Savory Garlic Sage Pumpkin Bread

Thanksgiving is less than a week away!  If you’re like me, the kitchen has already been destroyed in preparation…or you know, you have a life and that’s not even remotely true.  Good for you.

One of my cousins has Celiac…so naturally I was tagged to bring some gluten-free goodies.  And true to form, I got a little carried away.  My family, like any good Lithuanian crowd, loves their sweet bread and butter and rich desserts, so I’m on a mission to not only accommodate us Paleo and GF weirdos but to share some treats everyone will love.

This was the first of many Turkey Day experiments, and I think I finally got it right.  Too many “Paleo Breads” are really just pound cakes in disguise.  I was looking for something a little more dense and savory that would be good toasted with butter on my dinner plate, able to soak up my turkey drippings (or with chili!!), and sturdy enough for post-Thanksgiving turkey sandwiches.

NAILED IT.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 c Coconut Flour

1 t Salt

1 t Baking Soda

1/2 c Ground Flax

6 Eggs

1 c Pumpkin Puree

Juice and Zest of 1 Lemon

1 T Dried Sage

3 Garlic Cloves, minced VERY fine (I used a grater)

INSTRUCTIONS

Whisk together the dry ingredients and set aside.  Beat the eggs and whisk in the pumpkin, lemon juice and zest, sage, and garlic.  By quarter cup-fulls, add the dry mixture and mix well until completely combined.

Pour batter into a greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

5 responses to “Savory Garlic Sage Pumpkin Bread

  1. Pingback: Coconut Curry Banana Bread |·

  2. This is a fabulous recipe with coconut flour! I changed it up slightly due only to availability of herbs/spices- I didn’t have lemon, sage or garlic on hand. Instead, I had caraway seeds. I love their flavor so I used 2 teaspoons. I also used a muffin tin (the best trick I’ve found for ((help with)) portion control. If I make a loaf… it’s over.) I baked my 6-large muffins for 35 minutes at 350*. Delicious with grass-fed butter. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

