Yorkshire Pudding

This was the one Thanksgiving Challenge experiment I had expected to go horribly, horribly wrong.  Why?  Just because it’s such a simple recipe and, um, most of it is flour.  Glutinous, digestive-distress-inducing flour.  Because a Yorkshire Pudding with a crappy texture just ruins an entire meal and because I don’t want the Brits to hate me forever.

Um, I think it worked.

Good Gravy, you guys, I made Yorkshire Puddings that are not only acceptable to eat with delicious juicy beef, but that are 100% Paleo and won’t make me poop my pants.  I would ask any true Brits to test this and let me know what they think.  No, it’s not your Mum’s and I know I’ll never accomplish that, but pleasepleaseplease tell me it’s not awful and I’ll love you forever!!

INGREDIENTS

8 Eggs, beaten

1/2 c Rendered Beef Tallow (butter would also work but isn’t the “authentic” ingredient!)

1/2 c Full Fat Coconut Milk

1/2 c Arrowroot Powder

1/2 t Salt

Extra Tallow (or butter) for Muffin Tins

INSTRUCTIONS

Beat all ingredients together into a thin batter.  Cover and let rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place a dollop (a full teaspoon or so) of tallow in each individual muffin tin.  You can also bake the Pudding in a large dish–in that case, you need to place several dollops all over the dish.  Place empty muffin pan into the oven for 10 minutes, or until the butter is melted and the pan is very hot.  Remove the pan and swirl the melted butter a bit so it coats the sides of each muffin cup.

Pour the batter into each muffin cup on top of the melted butter–you want it to sizzle!  Do not…I reapeat, DO NOT…put too much batter in each of the muffin cups.  This stuff puffs up a LOT…so fill then about 1/4 full.

Bake for 15 minutes, or until the tops are puffy and brown.  Tear open to expose the hot, buttery inside and top with roast beef (or turkey) and gravy!

15 responses to “Yorkshire Pudding

  1. I’m baaack…lol I forgot to say I’m also a Yorkshire woman..lol
    I’ve been looking for a way to have my Yorkshire Puddings without using grain flours because I’m Diabetic type 2 plus gluten sensitive. Which is the reason I’m now Paleo, and it’s working, my sugars are almost down to normal after only 2 weeks.
    I only used 4 eggs to the quarter cup of Arrowroot powder, they cooked beautifully (I’ll have my camera ready next time I promise) they rose magnificently, then flopped once on the plate… I’ll use more Arrowroot next time and they may stay stiffer.. Good recipe, still a little tweaking but they do look and taste very similar to ‘real’ Yorkshire Puddings. I cooked mine in my muffin tin…

    *hug*

    Aran

  2. I made the Yorkshire Pudding again this evening, I used 1 full cup of Arrowroot powder to 4 eggs and ti was even better… Great recipe… Keep them coming I’ll test them for you…lol *hug*

      • In England we have Yorkshire pudding with Beef, Pork, Lamb, Chicken or Turkey… We sometimes bake the puddings in the round baking pans (used for making sponge cakes) and serve one per person and fill them with stew… yummy…. They can also be served as a dessert, topped with jam, fruit sauce, ice cream or best of all Tate and Lyle Golden syrup that is made from Cane sugar. (And I mustn’t forget Toad in the Hole)… *hug*

  3. Final Recipe for Yorkshire Pudding..
    2 Cups Arrowroot Powder
    1 Egg
    Milk (dairy, Almond or Coconut) to mix to a medium thick batter.
    It made a Fantastic, Crispy Yorkshire pudding that soaks up the gravy perfectly… It’s so good that my husband and father in law prefer it to ‘the real thing’….lol

    • You’re amazing!!! Would you mind if I did a new post with this recipe (with full credit to you, of course!). With all the holiday meals out there I feel like I owe myself a good roast with a Yorkshire pudding this week! 🙂

      • Feel free to use it and post it… I’m grateful to you for starting it out for me.. I love my Yorkshire Puddings (since I’m a Yorkshire woman..lol) and I thought I’d never be able to have Yorkshire Pudding again.
        Thank you so much..
        *hug*
        Aran

        • I don’t know what happened, but I tried the new recipe and it came out dry and didn’t puff up at all…did you use the same cooking temp and time?

  4. I made a quarter recipe in a very well preheated cast iron skillet instead of muffin tins. I used the original proportions. I made it with grassfed raw milk I needed to use up in preparation for the Whole30. It was amazingly delicious. Puffed up nicely. Deflated a bit when it came out of the oven, but that’s okay – it was scrumptious.

    Looking forward to trying it with coconut milk. I’ve got some on order from Amazon right now – can’t find it without guar gum anywhere else, and I’m allergic to all legumes, including guar. I’ll make this as soon as I’m done with my Whole30!

Leave a Reply

