Coconut Curry Banana Bread

So while I’m still on this bread kick

The other night I sent out a mass text imploring my family and friends to help me figure out something creative to do with the bunch of mushy bananas sitting on my kitchen counter.  I almost threw my phone into the wall when every single one of them came back with, “Banana Bread!”  I mean, no sh*t, you guys.  No help at all.  But I still love you.

To be fair, though, I do love me some banana bread.  I’m just trying to branch out…and after this act of genius, (and this one, too!) there’s really no going back.

I kinda went middle ground on the idea for this recipe but started adding some random stuff and before I knew it I had a batter chock full of spicy, sweet, fragrant goodies.  At the very least, the smell of this baby in the oven was worth it even if the bread itself had been terrible.  But Holy Crap, you guys.  I still can’t decide if it’s more sweet or savory, but who the hell cares?  Put some butter and honey on this biyatch and go to town!

INGREDIENTS

1/2 c Coconut Flour

1/2 c Ground Flax

1 t Salt

1 t Baking Soda

1 T Curry Powder

1 t Cumin

2 t Cinnamon

6 Eggs

4 Really Ripe Bananas

1/2 c Unsweetened Shredded Coconut

1/2 c Pine Nuts

INSTRUCTIONS

Whisk the dry ingredients together.  Mash the bananas and beat in the eggs.  Add the dry ingredients bit by but to the wet ingredients until well blended.  Fold in the coconut and pine nuts.  If you so desire, add 1/2 c Raisins as well…I reallyreallyreally wanted to but didn’t have any on hand.

Pour into a greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Coconut Curry Banana Bread

    • Sure! I’d just make sure they’re really well pureed in a food processor, maybe with a little coconut milk. Ugh…I HATE the green banana rule. I love them on their own but they’re impossible to bake with!

  1. Thanks for the recipe, it’s delicious! Of course in had to make a change or 2… No pine nuts in the house, so I used pumpkin seeds, used 5 eggs instead of 6, still yummy!

Leave a Reply

