Chock-Full-o-Fall Breakfast Bread

Listen, I know it’s been Christmas Season since, like, before Halloween, but there’s a week left of November so if I want a “Fall Recipe,” then dammit that’s what you get.

Before I get into the post, if you’ve never heard of a Buddha’s Hand, I really suggest you figure out where to find one.  This thing saved my ass this Thanksgiving.  I’d certainly never heard of them before a week ago when they showed up at my Whole Foods with a sign over them that read, “Most incredible citrus flavor EVER!  GREAT FOR ZESTING!!”  I was like, I like citrus!  So I bought one and zested it into whatever I could think of.  Holy crap, you guys….just…just go find one.  You’re welcome.

I originally called this “Thanksgiving Leftovers Coffee Cake,” because that’s really what it was.  I had done a HUGE batch of stuffing and had a bunch of random ingredients (apples, cranberries, the Buddha’s Hand…) that I, true to form, tried and failed to be creative with before I just said “to Hell with it” and baked them into a loaf of bread.

A blessing in disguise, too…I mean, I start my NEW JOB tomorrow–which happens to have an early start and longer commute, so a portable breakfast option totally saves some heartburn.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 c Coconut Flour

6 Eggs

1/2 c  Ground Flax

1 t Salt

1 t Baking Soda

1 c Acorn Squash Puree (or Pumpkin Puree, or 3 Mashed Bananas)

3 T Zested Buddha’s Hand

1 c Fresh Cranberries, coarslely chopped

2 small (or 1 large) Granny Smith Apples, diced fine

3 Stalks Celery, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

Whisk the dry ingredients together.  Beat in the eggs and squash in a separate bowl or stand mixer.  Add the dry ingredients bit by but to the wet ingredients until well blended.  Fold in the zest and chopped fruits and celery.

Pour into a greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 60-65 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

5 responses to “Chock-Full-o-Fall Breakfast Bread

  1. I just saw a Buddha’s Hand the other day in the produce dept. I knew it was citrusy but had no idea what the heck to do with it or how to eat it. And they were $10/lb and enormous so I passed. Bread looks awesome though!

  2. Pingback: Autumnal Eats: 2 seasonal recipes for the holidays - Eat, Lift & Be Happy·

  3. Pingback: Citrus-Brandy Applesauce |·

Leave a Reply

