Citrus-Brandy Applesauce

It’s officially winter.  And Christmas season.  You know, with, like, lights and snowmen and the sweet scent of cinnamon and pine everrrrrrrywhere.  I love it.  Except when the Colorado Springs Festival of Lights parade backs traffic up to the interstate.  All I wanted to do last night was go to Phantom and drink copious amounts of wine and chow down on sweet potato fries…only to be blocked by a zillion cars and screaming kids and chicks dressed up like slutty Santa running through the street.  I mean, we totally still made it, and I guess the one saving grace of a ginormous Christmas parade is that the bars were completely deserted.  So…win?

IMG_1885

OK so back to Christmas and smells and applesauce.  So you may recall that, way back in July,  mad this AH-MAZING apple cobbler.  Well, Britney is back in town for my promotion and true to form, we’ve been cooking and eating.  A lot.  It’s obscene.  Know what else is obscene?  Our Crossfit Totals, fueled by Overnight Citrus-Brandy Applesauce (and bacon).  I mean, look at that face.

IMG_18733

Yep, PR’s all around…thank the applesauce.  Anyhoo, I decided to do up the apples the other day but make them a little more Christmas-y with lemon and orange and cinnamon and booze.  Yay, booze!

IMG_1889

Obviously, we did the whole appleSAUCE thing instead of cobbler this time, mostly because  overslept and left it to cook a few more hours than I intended, but who the hell cares?  My blog, my food.  And it was good.  But of course, you can do cobbler instead of sauce if you want to, just reduce the cooking time to 4 or 5 hours instead of the, um, 8 or 9 that I left mine.

IMG_1884

INGREDIENTS

8 Apples, cored and sliced

1 T Coconut Oil

1/2 c Brandy

3 T zest from a Buddha’s Hand, (or 1 zested lemon and 1 zested orange)

1 t Salt

1 T Vanilla

INSTRUCTIONS

Grease the bottom of your crockpot with the coconut oil.

Place all other ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir until combined.  Pour into the crockpot.

Cook on LOW for 4-5 hours for cobbler or 8+ hours for applesauce.  Serve topped with raw nuts and coconut.

8 responses to “Citrus-Brandy Applesauce

  1. I can totally relate to your Parade of Lights lament. The streets in downtown Denver were manic on Friday night!

    Congrats on the CrossFit Total PR. I’m totally going to make this applesauce before my next Total! 🙂 It may not get me a PR, but it looks like a real treat!

  2. we have a guy down the street who sells trees and his whole yard is decked out – looks like Santa’s Village on crack all lit up. Backs up traffic and people just stand in the road mesmerized. This year he added music blasting from the trees. Great.

    As an aside – looking for a little words of wisdom. I’m into week 3 of Stronglifts and must be retaining fluid like crazy. I’m up 12 lbs!! I feel swollen all over and all my clothes are tighter. I’m making all the increases in weight and loving it, but not loving how I’m looking or feeling (other than strength wise). I really don’t eat any salt and drink about 96 oz/day of water (then have tea, etc also) Getting 150+ gm protein/day. Any advice? Not sure if it’s newbie muscle repair and I should take a week off or what, but feeling a bit frustrated.

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon Tahini Bread |·

  4. Pingback: Carol’s Secret Cobbler | familyrecipebooks·

Leave a Reply

