Eggnog Chocolate Chip Cupcakes w/ Rich Vanilla Frosting

Sooooo I’m such a recipe thief it isn’t even funny.

IMG_1907

As I was a-stalking the interwebz last week I found this recipe.  Couldn’t not do it.  Just couldn’t.  I love eggnog.  I love chocolate.  I LOVE that I’m, like, required on pain of death to keep my house full of baked goods during the whole month of December.  That’s Patriotism, folks.

IMG_1908

So, um…eggnog isn’t Paleo!  Oh, wait…I HIGHLY recommend this Paleo eggnog recipe from Health-Bent.  (I like maple syrup instead of sugar for this one).  It’s totally bonkers, you guys.  Even if you’re too lazy to bake it into anything, just do it because egg nog is awesome.  I also found some great organic nog at Safeway that’s Primal-friendly (it’s got heavy cream in it), so all hope isn’t lost if you don’t feel like making your own, either.  If you’re like a certain husband of mine (*cough*) who doesn’t like eggnog for some godawful reason.  Just…just get out.  Now.

Totally kidding, I swear!  Jeez.  Well, maybe only a little…maybe.

INGREDIENTS

1/2 c + 1 T Coconut Flour

6 Eggs

1/2 c Pastured Butter, softened

1/2 t Salt

1/2 t Baking Soda

1/3 c Maple Syrup

3/4 c Egg Nog

2 t Vanilla

1/2 t Nutmeg

1 1/2 c Chocolate Chips

INSTRUCTIONS

(makes 12 cupcakes)

Whisk together the dry ingredients.

Beat the eggs, egg nog, butter, vanilla, and maple syrup.  By 1/2 cup-fulls, add the dry mixture and whisk until smooth.  Fold in the chocolate chips.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Fill lined muffin tins 1/2 full with batter.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick.

**Vanilla Frosting**

1 c Palm Shortening

2 T Canned Coconut Milk

1 t Vanilla

2 T Maple Syrup

Beat all ingredients together until light and fluffy.  Frost cupcakes when cool.

Enjoy!

3 responses to “Eggnog Chocolate Chip Cupcakes w/ Rich Vanilla Frosting

  1. I can’t help but bake a ton in December either. The problem is that my husband isnt really into sweets, so he will eat one cupcake and I eat the other 11…usually within 24 hours. I guess it is ok if it is for patriotism though 🙂

Leave a Reply

