Tripe Sauteed w/ Bacon and Shallots

I probably already mentioned it like a hundred times but I got a new job.  Holy crap.  You GUYS!   I never ever realized how exhausting it is to pick out something different to wear every day.  I *almost* miss my potato sack of a uniform.  Almost.  No, that’s such a lie…sorry, guys.  I have neon pink nail polish on right now and it’s awesome!!

Buuuuuuuut with a new job comes some pretty hellish hours sitting at a desk staring at a computer screen.  And I don’t even have a nice comfy swivel chair to make it all better.  Pretty sure my brain is fried so forgive my crappy writing lately.  It’s all about the food anyway.  Duh.

IMG_1922

So I know there are a lot of you out there who don’t exactly like tripe (*cough* ROSS *cough*).  But I happen to love it…if for no other reason than the price tag and INSANE protein content.  The funky flavor doesn’t exactly lend itself to too much “dressing up,” so I think it’s best with simple seasoning or sauce (like this) and served with roasted veggies or something.  BUT!!  I realized, as I often do, that I should really try this stuff with bacon.  I mean, bacon not only makes everything better.  Bacon is life.

So, um.  You should make thisBACON!

INGREDIENTS

2 lbs Beef Tripe

4 Thick Slices of Bacon, cut into lardons

3 Shallots, thinly sliced

3 Cloves Garlic, minced

1 T dried Parsley

2 T Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

Rinse the tripe in cold water.  Place in a large stockpot and cover with water and a little sat.  Bring to a boil, then turn the heat down to a simmer for 2-3 hours.

Once cooked, remove the tripe from the water, strain, and let cool.  Cut into 1-2 inch pieces.

Over medium-high heat in a pot or large frying pan, heat the olive oil and brown the bacon.  Add the shallots and garlic.  When the shallots are nicely browned, add the parsley and turn the heat down to medium.  When the parsley is fragrant, add the tripe along with the salt and pepper.  Sautee until coated with the bacon grease, then cover and let simmer for 10-15 minutes or until ready to serve.

IMG_1924

3 responses to “Tripe Sauteed w/ Bacon and Shallots

  1. Get yourself a swivel chair stat! Or better yet, a Swiss ball! The worst part about my job is that I have to sit in whatever chair the client has lying around. Major pain in the butt… Literally.

  2. Pingback: Philadelphia Pepper Pot Soup | midatlanticcooking·

Leave a Reply

