Beef Tongue Enchiladas

IMG_2072 Holy crap, you guys…I love Mexican food.  Like I’d-write-it-a-Valentine kinda love.  And of all Mexican food, I love super sauce-y enchiladas the absolute best.  Because, um, I clearly have superior tastes.

I contemplated some options to replicate the tortillas–I’ve done a coconut tortilla with enchiladas before and it wasn’t bad–but I realized that the wraps are totally unnecessary as long as you’ve got the perfect sauce to spill over some super tender chunks of meat.  Does that mean they’re not really enchiladas anymore?  More like carnitas, maybe, but whatever…my blog, my recipe names.

Far and away, though, the real success here is the sauce.  The enchilada sauce here is probably the best I’ve ever had and is so freaking easy to make I actually picked up a few more jars of plain tomato sauce just so I can whip up a jumbo batch to use on…well, everything.  I chose tongue because it’s cheap and is so ungodly fork tender.  For that reason I’d recommend using a big cut of fatty meat you can roast and cut apart for this meal.  Whether you use beef tongue as I did or just want to saute some chicken to toss into it, though, this sauce makes the dish.

Oh!  One more thing!  Ross is travelling all week for work and is still going strong on the 21-Day-Sugar-Detox.  I asked him to record his meals so that I can share them with you all.  Travel and hotel stays are favorite excuses for some to faceplant in pizza and beer, but for realsies, y’all, it’s not that bad.  I’ll be posting his stuff this weekend when he’s back.  Until then, here’s some down home cookin’…

INGREDIENTS

**Printable Recipe**

2 Beef Tongues (or any other protein)

1 Jar (28oz) Tomato or Plain Marinara Sauce (check the label for sugar or any other crap)

2 T Olive Oil

1 Onion, diced

5 Cloves Garlic, minced

2 T Chili Powder

1 t Cumin

1 t Oregano

1 t Salt

1 t Black Pepper

1/3 c Dried Red Chilies

INSTRUCTIONS

Prepare your tongue first.  Place the tongue in a large pot with enough water to cover it.  Boil the tongue for 2-3 hours.  Remove the tongue from the water and let it rest and cool for 30 minutes (don’t skip this step, it makes everything easier!!).  Peel the skin off and cut into chunks.  Set aside.

In another pot, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the garlic, stirring for a couple of minutes until golden, then add the onions.  When the onion is translucent, pour in the tomato sauce and the seasonings.  Simmer for 10 minutes, then add your meat.  Turn heat down to medium-low and cover.  Let simmer for 1-2 hours.

Serve with cauliflower rice.

Serves 4-6

One response to “Beef Tongue Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

