Hazlenut Coconut Cookies (Sugar-Free)

I know, I know…I’m doing a sugar detox this month. How original. Whatever. But I was craving sugar like something fierce so I decided to make some cookies! Without the sugar. Boom. Cookies!!!

IMG_2111

And you know what? Vanilla and cinnamon and creamy coconut butter are AH-MAZING together. You don’t even need sweetener and I find myself wondering why I felt the need to put so much honey in my other recipes. Actually…I find myself wondering why I ever feel the need to put so much honey or maple syrup or palm sugar in a lot of the things I’ve made. There is most certainly a place for sweeteners in cooking (we all know how much I lovelovelove a sweet treat every now and then), but damn…we don’t have to sweeten friggin everything. Have you seen Triple D lately? There’s sugar in gravy, there’s sugar on bacon, there’s sugar on steak! I mean, WTF?? No wonder we’re all addicts…and I’m in the midst of a very real Low-Carb-Flu to prove it.

Thankfully these hit the spot while still being completely sugar free. Just hoping my body doesn’t figure it out anytime soon. If you’re not doing a detox, you can add 1/3 c maple syrup and whatever other goodies you want (chocolate chips, anyone?).  I made my original batch with almond meal and walnuts, but then I did another one that was hazlenut flour-based and had pecans instead of walnuts as the secondary nut…OMFG.  If you can find it, I highly recommend using hazlenut flour–or just make your own like I did in a food processor.    But any combination of nuts and nut flours will work…go nuts!

PS…I finally gave in.  Like me on Facebook!

INGREDIENTS

**Printable Recipe**

2 c Hazlenut Meal

1 t Baking Soda

1 c Pecans, ground in a food processor

1/2 c Unsweetened Shredded Coconut

1/2 c Ground Flax

1 t Cinnamon

2 Eggs

1 t Vanilla

1/2 c Coconut Oil

1/2 c Coconut Butter

INSTRUCTIONS

Mix together the wet ingredients. Then Combine the dry ingredients in a separate mixing bowl. Add to the wet mixture by spoonfuls, beating until smooth. Drop by large spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 325 for 15 minutes, until lightly browned on top. These are best eaten piping hot from the oven!!

Makes 16 large cookies.

9 responses to “Hazlenut Coconut Cookies (Sugar-Free)

  1. Thank you for posting this, what a cool idea! And finally! I can’t handle any amount of sugar or honey in baked goods and it never occurred to me that you could make cookies without any of it. These sound great and I will be trying them for sure.

  2. Pingback: Coconut – Pecan Frosting | familyrecipebooks·

  3. I’m on Day 11 of 21DSD. Yesterday, a kind/cruel soul left a box of Whole Foods oatmeal chocolate chip cookies in our school kitchen. I couldn’t resist- I opened them up, leaned in close, and inhaled deeply. They smelled like heaven! I’ve been craving a sweet ever since and I think these will be the ticket. Thanks so much for posting!

    • Ok, I made these last night, subbing almond flour for the coveted hazelnut. My first bite was kind of sad because my brain has sweet and sugary expectations of what a cookie should taste like. However, I am enjoying them more and more as I take a pinch here and there. My best revelation, though? I put 2 in a cereal bowl and covered them with heavy cream. It was the best bowl of cereal I’ve had in ages! A multii-purposed cookie- great stuff!

  4. Thank you for the inspiration to try making cookies without the ADDED sweetness! I was quite a sugar-addict and had to TOTALLY cut it (including natural sweetners with sugars in them…) out about 3 years ago or I’d crave it to much. I feel SO much better. But, I have become a stevia addict as I’m still in search of that “sweet” taste. I really should try your recipe without stevia, too! Keep up your detox… You’ll sure be glad you did! And I’ve gotta try to cut down on this stevia! 🙂

    • haha totally! the nice thing is that the nuts and coconut have such a nice natural sweetness that it hits the spot without sabotaging any of your efforts 🙂

  5. OMFG—I was about to take a nap, but I think I’ve got to go out and get some hazelnuts so I can make these cookies pronto!!!

    I’ll have a fresh cup of Sumatran ready when I pop one into my mouth, fresh from the oven!

    Thanks for your inspiration!

    Suzanne

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

