Thai Roast Pork Loin

So it’s no secret that I’m leaving the Army in a few months.  Still working on, you know, a plan and all but lately some BIG things have been happening and we’ve got some tentative stuff in the works.  There’s a couple directions it could go, so I won’t jinx anything, but if everything works out we’ll be embarking on something pretty badass.  Well, I think so at least.

IMG_2117

Enough of that!  Let’s talk about this dish.  I confess I was inspired by a recipe from a book called “Campfire Cuisine” for a Thai marinade…except I nixed all the brown sugar, added a bunch of chilies, and threw it all in the Crock because I’m way too lazy to build a fire.  I’m seriously contemplating getting a second crock pot because I could easily live off giant cuts of pork stewed in the Crock all winter.  I was only sorry I couldn’t fit more meat in there this time around because this recipe is just so…EASY.  Just so…EFFING DELICIOUS.   The coconut-drenched pork just melts in your mouth.  You get a nice bite from the fish sauce, too…fish sauce is an ingredient I’m still learning to use (you can make a dish terrible pretty quick with too much or too little) and just enough heat to keep you warm on a cold winter day (the high yesterday was 17, y’all…).

INGREDIENTS

**Printable Recipe**

3-4 lbs Pork Loin

1 can Coconut Milk

2 T Fish Sauce

1 T Fresh Grated Ginger

Juice of 1 Lime

1 t Salt

Handful of Chiles

INSTRUCTIONS

Place your pork in the crock pot, then add the coconut milk, fish sauce, and seasonings.  Cook on LOW for 6-8 hours.

5 responses to “Thai Roast Pork Loin

  1. How exciting! Big changes are scary, but energizing too! This looks great. I did just get a 2nd crock pot – I did baked apples in one and a big beef roast in the other. YUM! A whopping 9 here this morning. Not happy…..

  2. Sorry for dumb questions….but what are those grape-looking things? And when you say chili, what kind of chili did you use? dry, fresh, thai chili, jalapeno? Thank you, it looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

